S&SWM PR papers L1187

L1187

Ansd Mar. 5/95 | Specimens sent | Peacock

1 Woodsome Terrace | York Rise | London N.W. | 3rd. Mch/95

General Pitt Rivers

Dear Sir,

Having observed your advertisement in the "Engineer" of Mch 1st I beg to state that I shall be glad to submit for your inspection some specimens of my work.

I am a good artist & a skilful designer & draftsman and can prepare drawings in mono-tone, line, or colour as reqd. and have had considerable practice in all these mediums in preparing drawings for book illustration and for the weekly illustrated newspapers, including the Graphic, and Black & White.

I may also state that I have had the honour when a non-com officer in the Corps of Royal Engineers to prepare drawings for reproduction for Officers, and that I for some time acted as assistant instructor of drawing at the School of Military Engineering at Chatham.

I shall be pleased to give you any references you may require and if favoured with an interview I shall esteem it as a great honour

I am
Dear Sir
yrs most respectfully
Alex Peacock

Enclosure

Sir

In reference to previous correspondence I shall be glad to have an interview with you at No 4, Grosvenor Gardens on Monday next the 11th at 7 to 8 p.m. or Tuesday at 10.30 a.m.

A.P.R.

Mr A. Peacock

Can have character [illegible] to [illegible] for W.G. Jack. [illegible] cottage [illegible] Reigate. Mr Crawford Wardle [illegible] North [illegible] Reigate. Has been a sapper in Royal Engineers & was corporal [this is presumably Pitt-Rivers' illegible notes on Peacock]

-----

L1197

Rushmore | Salisbury | Mar. 14/95

Sir,

Your drawings appear to be satisfactory and your having been in the Royal Engineers is an additional point in your favour. So that if your testimonials are satisfactory, I shall be disposed to engage you.

Please to send to me any testimonials you may be able to get, as to conduct etc, and if you have your discharge from the Royal Engineers I had better see it.